Skip to content

Boredom Cures-AV Division

January 17, 2009

TV

Battlestar Galactica-I’m happy to say that the newest episode was one of the best of the entire series.  After a lackluster first half of the season where navel-gazing ruled the day, it is great to see the show get back to what made it so good in the first place-that feeling that no matter how bad things seem at the moment, they are probably going to get worse.  Not sure how I feel about the big reveal at the end of the episode (not even sure if I should trust the big reveal), but that little tidbit always seemed like a MacGuffin to me anyway.  I’m more interested in how that reveal affects a central character (he, at least, believes it to be true), as well as all the other cool information that was dropped in this episode.

A funny aside-KFC is doing a tie in with BSG, and they have a Frak Pack filled with chickeny goodness.  As anyone who as watched the show for 10 seconds knows, frak is the BSG universe version of fuck.  They say “frak you,” “frak off,” “motherfrakkin,” and so on.  It’s not exactly a hidden secret.  Nice work, KFC.  You just got middle America to buy a Fuck Pack.

**UPDATE**

KFC changed the name of the Frak Pack to the Can’t-Say-That-Word-On-TV pack.  Too funny.

Music

I’ve been working my way through my iPod on shuffle, trying not to restart it at all and just let every song play.  Being that I have somewhere in the neighborhood of 4000 songs on there, this should take around 15 days of non-stop playing.  It’s been fun to see what gems I have tucked away in all those bytes.  For example, Third Eye Blind’s Never Let You Go is playing right now.  And I’m liking it.

Movies

I rewatched The Fountain a couple nights ago, and no matter how many times I’ve seen it (around 5 times now), it is film that moves me both because of its story and the amazing visuals.  After watching it, I feel wrung out, but in the best way possible.  It’s like going through emotional detox.  Darren Aronofsky is an incredibly inventive filmmaker, and talented as all hell, and it’s refreshing to see someone deal so openly with themes and ideas that most of us, myself included, tend to shy away from.  I can’t wait to see The Wrestler.

Sitting on my desk are two DVDs from Netflix-The Outlaw Josey Wales and The Foot Fist Way.  Josey is one of my all time favorites and The Foot Fist Way looks like a funny, dark comedy.

I’m going to see My Bloody Valentine in 3-D today.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I love this type of horror film, and I’m excited for the 3-D aspect.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Books Are Not A Luxury

Help America See Itself in Literature

Howlin' T-Wolf

Your Perspectives, Our Timberwolves

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Punch-Drunk Wolves

Muhammad/LaVine 2016

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

Eric Clapp 4.0

Words About God, Life, and Coffee

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

Annotation Nation

Annotations of the writers, by the writers, for the writers...

divorcedivorced

How to get over adultery and divorce...

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

helobiae

a celebration of life

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

eCharta

The blog

The Write Niche

For me, finding a niche has been like trying to choose a favorite among my own children. There are so many things I love to do, but one I'm passionate about and that's writing.

UMFA Blog

5000 Years of Human Creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

