Skip to content

The Evils of Drug Use-Michael Phelps edition

February 9, 2009
tags: , ,

First, let me say that Michael Phelps is an amazing athlete, and watching him and his teammates win gold after gold in the last Olympics was exhilarating.  And the amount of time and effort and suffering and sacrifice he put in to get to those gold medal podiums is nothing short of humbling.

Second, I don’t know Michale Phelps at all, but he strikes me as a bit of douche-bag.  Maybe not any more so than most 23-year-olds, especially those with a few dollars in their pocket.  Probably not any more so than I was at 23, but a douche-bag nonetheless.

I bring both these points up so people don’t think I’m a Phelps hater or a Phelps apologist.

This nonsense about him smoking pot (or grass-my favorite euphemism for marijuana) has got to stop.  Of course, being that it happened a week ago, I’m probably way behind in commenting on it, so I’ll be short.  First, can we now put to rest the idea that only lazy people smoke pot.  Clearly, pot brought this kid down to the point where he only won more gold medals than any one in history.  Second, although he is unavoidably a role model, if your kids are smoking pot because Michael Phelps smokes pot, they were just looking for an excuse to do it anyway.  And lastly, I wish I knew what was going through the head of the person who took this photo and posted it on the internet.  I try not to judge people without some information.  Did they think they were going to make some money for exposing Phelps?  Did they just think, hey cool, I got a great memento of this party, and not realize what posting that memento on their internet was going to do?  I hope it’s the latter, but I suspect the former.  But that’s me.  I’m a cynic.

**UPDATE**

So, apparently, there have now been eight arrests in the Michael Phelps case (Phelps has not been arrested).  This is seriously getting out of hand.  Because a famous person had his picture taken with a bong, eight other people have had their lives thrown into total chaos.   I am not advocating for Phelps’ arrest, but this does show the double-standard we have in this country.

Oh, and if you were worried, they confiscated the bong.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Books Are Not A Luxury

Help America See Itself in Literature

Howlin' T-Wolf

Your Perspectives, Our Timberwolves

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Punch-Drunk Wolves

Muhammad/LaVine 2016

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

Eric Clapp 4.0

Words About God, Life, and Coffee

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

Annotation Nation

Annotations of the writers, by the writers, for the writers...

divorcedivorced

How to get over adultery and divorce...

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

helobiae

a celebration of life

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

eCharta

The blog

The Write Niche

For me, finding a niche has been like trying to choose a favorite among my own children. There are so many things I love to do, but one I'm passionate about and that's writing.

UMFA Blog

5000 Years of Human Creativity

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

