Skip to content

Read Me a Story – The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford – by Ron Hansen

June 29, 2009

I’m posting this mostly because I love this book and hope to introduce its impressive story and poetic language to more of the people I know, and maybe even to a few I don’t (whether me reading it aloud is helpful to that cause is definitely up for debate).  This is also my first crack at something I’ve been thinking about for awhile – an online reading series for this blog.

I chose the opening of the Jesse James book as a practice run because I think it’s beautifully written, but in the future, most of these would be readings of short stories.  For now, as time and motivation allows, it will be me reading the works of published authors (I’m not exactly sure what the legal implications of that are, but I imagine that because I’m giving credit to the original author and not making any money off of it, those implications would be negligible.  If someone knows more, please let me know).  In the future, though, if this ends up being even semi-regular (and legal), it could be fun to have other people read, and maybe even read their own stories.  We’ll see what the future holds.

Please forgive any mispronunciations and stumblings.  As I said, this is basically a practice run, and I clearly need a little more practice.

Lastly, if anyone has any suggestions for improving the audio quality, I would love to hear them.  I’m using Garage Band for Mac and just the built-in microphone on my laptop.  For now, I’m not going to buy any new equipment or software, but if you have Garage Band tips or ideas for how to create a more professional sound on the cheap, I’m all ears.

If the flash player below isn’t working for you, please let me know.

The background music is off the soundtrack of the movie by the same name and is composed by Nick Cave and Warren Ellis

**UPDATE**

It looks like the audio player isn’t working.  I’m going to try get it fixed.  If and when I do, I’ll probably just repost this whole thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Books Are Not A Luxury

Help America See Itself in Literature

Howlin' T-Wolf

Your Perspectives, Our Timberwolves

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Punch-Drunk Wolves

Muhammad/LaVine 2016

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

Eric Clapp 4.0

Words About God, Life, and Coffee

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

Annotation Nation

Annotations of the writers, by the writers, for the writers...

divorcedivorced

How to get over adultery and divorce...

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

helobiae

a celebration of life

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

eCharta

The blog

The Write Niche

For me, finding a niche has been like trying to choose a favorite among my own children. There are so many things I love to do, but one I'm passionate about and that's writing.

UMFA Blog

5000 Years of Human Creativity

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

