Skip to content

A Friday Morning Musical Pick-me-up – Iron and Wine

May 10, 2013

caughtinthebriarsIt’s Friday, so you may not need this, but I woke up this morning feeling a little emotionally lazy from the fact that I’m still trying to re-acclimate to my familiar surroundings after a great time in DC earlier this week.  I played this song as I started my morning routine and just kept hitting repeat, and now I feel a hell of a lot better.   Sam Beam (Iron and Wine) is a treasure and songwriter extraordinaire.  I’ve probably shed more tears listening to Upward Over the Mountain and The Trapeze Swinger than I have when my pets have died (sorry, Gypsy. I still miss you).  But Caught in the Briars doesn’t make me cry (well, maybe happy tears).  It lifts me up and makes me want to give everyone a big damn hug.  Yes, even you, Crosby.  And if you think that makes you feel uncomfortable, imagine how it makes me feel.

Caught in the Briars
The back alley’s full of rain
And everything’s shining
As holy as she can be
The trick’s in the timing

Free as the morning birds
Fragile as china
She’s stuck in the weakest heart
Of South Carolina

Where all of the naked boys
who lay down beside her
Sing her the saddest song
All caught in the briars

I never meant to fall
So hard in her doorway
And all the sinners here
Have crosses for Sunday

Kissed at the county fair
Frisked in the city
Where proof is an answered prayer
But ain’t it a pity

That all of the naked boys
Who lay down beside her
Sing her the saddest song
All caught in the briars

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Books Are Not A Luxury

Help America See Itself in Literature

Howlin' T-Wolf

Your Perspectives, Our Timberwolves

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Punch-Drunk Wolves

Muhammad/LaVine 2016

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

Eric Clapp 4.0

Words About God, Life, and Coffee

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

Annotation Nation

Annotations of the writers, by the writers, for the writers...

divorcedivorced

How to get over adultery and divorce...

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

helobiae

a celebration of life

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

eCharta

The blog

The Write Niche

For me, finding a niche has been like trying to choose a favorite among my own children. There are so many things I love to do, but one I'm passionate about and that's writing.

UMFA Blog

5000 Years of Human Creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

