Skip to content

Look at my foot

June 13, 2013

I think my first x-ray was at the dentist, and I remember being really disappointed that they didn’t show it to me after.  Luckily, times have changed and now they give you a cd with your x-ray images burned onto it (admittedly, times have only changed to about 2002).  So, guess what?!  I’m sharing those images.  I figure it’s become passé to open up on my blog about my life.  Too easy. No, I’m giving you a real look into the inner workings of me.

I find x-rays fascinating.  That’s my skeleton.  That’s what’s holding me together and what will be left (at least for awhile) after I’m gone.  If someone digs up my bones in 500 years, what will they be able to tell about me? That I was male. Approximately how old I was when I died. If I had broken any bones or was the victim of violence.  How much I weighed, give or take a few pounds.  My race.  Whether I was right- or left-handed.  They could even do facial reconstruction to see what I looked like (lucky devils). But what do those bare facts really say about who I was (am)?  Not a whole hell of a lot.  But it’s still cool to think that if I leave nothing else behind, my architecture sticks around.

And don’t worry, there’s nothing wrong with my foot.  What you’re looking at is as normal as a 39-year-0ld foot gets.  I just had some inflammation, but it’s nothing a round of steroids won’t fix.  Ah, age, you sure are a dark mistress.

**UPDATE**  Just stumbled across this, which sounds like the most horrifying disease imaginable.  Basically, it turns your muscle and connective tissue into bone and you become one giant skelton: Fibrodysplasia ossificans progressiva

Top-down view of the right foot

Top-down view of the right foot

Top-down view of the right big toe - Those floating bones near the joint are called sesamoid bones.

Top-down view of the right big toe – Those floating bones near the joint are called sesamoid bones.

Side-view of the right foot.  Look at that flexibility.

Side-view of the right foot. Look at that flexibility.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tess permalink
    June 13, 2013 12:17 pm

    Ha! This post makes me laugh. And you do have a flexible foot for a nearly 40 year old 😉

  2. Kathy permalink
    June 14, 2013 5:29 am

    Lucky devils indeed! The weird thing is you can see the fleshy part but it is now the background. You’ve been turned inside out!

Leave a Reply

Books Are Not A Luxury

Help America See Itself in Literature

Howlin' T-Wolf

Your Perspectives, Our Timberwolves

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Punch-Drunk Wolves

Muhammad/LaVine 2016

we hunted the mammoth

the new misogyny, tracked and mocked

Eric Clapp 4.0

Words About God, Life, and Coffee

KITCHEN CICI

Food Innovator, Clean Eater, Recipe Sharer. My kitchen is small but mighty.

Annotation Nation

Annotations of the writers, by the writers, for the writers...

divorcedivorced

How to get over adultery and divorce...

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

helobiae

a celebration of life

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

eCharta

The blog

The Write Niche

For me, finding a niche has been like trying to choose a favorite among my own children. There are so many things I love to do, but one I'm passionate about and that's writing.

UMFA Blog

5000 Years of Human Creativity

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

